Warlock 5e Guide: Dungeons & Dragons


This Warlock 5e Guide

This Warlock 5e Guide will serve as instruction into the Dungeons & Dragons Fifth Edition class, the Warlock. It will go over all of the information required to create your first Warlock and give tips and advice to optimize your character. Otherworldly patrons will be discussed, as well as the best spells to use and multi-classing opportunities for the Warlock class.

The Warlock Class

The Warlock class in D&D 5e combines an interesting assortment of abilities and skills to create one of the most fun classes to play as. While many classes focus entirely on dealing damage or talking to people, the Warlock class combines fighting ability and social prowess into one class. As a Warlock, you will have the ability to shoot beams of energy at your enemies or charm them into submission.

Class Features

As a warlock, you gain the following class features.

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d8 per warlock level
Hit Points at 1st Level: 8 + your Constitution modifier
Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d8 (or 5) + your Constitution modifier per warlock level after 1st


Armor: Light armor
Weapons: Simple weapons
Tools: None
Saving Throws: Wisdom, Charisma
Skills: Choose two from Arcana, Deception, History, Intimidation, Investigation, Nature, and Religion


You start with the following equipment, in addition to the equipment granted by your background: * (a) a light crossbow and 20 bolts or (b) any simple weapon * (a) a component pouch or (b) an arcane focus * (a) a scholar’s pack or (b) a dungeoneer’s pack * Leather armor, any simple weapon, and two daggers.

Warlock Multi-classing

Multi-classing, the act of specializing in two or more separate classes at once, is always an option for the Warlock class. There are a number of other classes that can be combined with the Warlock to create a truly dangerous or well-rounded character.

Fighter + Warlock

The Fighter class is one that focuses entirely on dealing physical damage to your enemies. This multi-class is a terrifying opponent to meet in battle.

Rogue + Warlock

The Rogue class is one that focuses on cunning and swiftness. This multi-class offers a great deal of social prowess without sacrificing fighting capability.

Bard + Warlock

The Bard class is one that focuses almost entirely on social interaction and aiding allies. This multi-class offers the most advantages when interacting with other creatures peacefully.

Spells for Warlocks

The Warlock spell list contains a number of cantrips and spells that are incredibly useful to the Warlock class. The most important of these abilities is Eldritch Blast. This cantrip allows the user to blast an enemy with dark energy, dealing up to ten damage on a successful hit. At higher levels you can use this ability to shoot multiple beams of energy at your targets, gaining a second at level five, and third at level eleven, and a fourth at level seventeen.

Otherworldly Patrons

The basis of a Warlock’s power is the bond they have created with their Patron. An otherworldly being of immense and unimaginable power that grants one abilities after they make a pact with it. There are eight approved Otherworldly Patrons in D&D 5e. Those are: The Archfey, The Celestial, The Fathomless, The Fiend, The Genie, The Great Old One, The Hexblade, The Undying. Each patron offers its own unique benefits and abilities and should be evaluated carefully to determine which is the best for your character.

The Archfey – A powerful fey creature from another realm.
The Celestial – A powerful being from the upper planes of existence.
The Fathomless – A creature from the depths of the ocean.
The Fiend – An evil being from the lower planes of existence.
The Genie – A Noble genie that may bind their subjects into servitude.
The Great Old One – A mysterious entity foreign to your reality.
The Hexblade – A mysterious entity from the Shadowfell.
The Undying – An immortal being that has lived countless lifetimes.

Warlock Level Breakdown

At Level One, the Warlock makes a pact with its Otherworldly Patron and gains the Pact Magic ability. This feature is what gives the Warlock its magical ability. Level One Warlocks know two cantrips and two spells and have a single first level spell slot. At Level Two, the Warlock unlocks the ability to use Eldritch Invocations, powerful abilities that serve a variety of purposes. At Level Three, the Warlock gains a Pact Boon. There are three boons to choose from: Pact of the Chain, which grants a familiar that aids you, Pact of the Blade, which provides bonus and extra features to one weapon, and Pact of the Tome, which grants the user the ability to use cantrips from outside the Warlock class. At Level Three, the Warlock earns an ability score improvement. This means that you may increase one ability score by two, or two ability scores by one.

Related Content:


Your #1 source for the fifth edition of Dungeons and Dragons! Visit the about us site for more on the project!

Latest news